• Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit


     

     The primary mission of the Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit is to enhance the well-being and meet the basic human needs of the members of the Santee Sioux Nation, with particular attention to the needs and empowerment of its members who are vulnerable, oppressed, and living in poverty. Fundamental to the mission of Dakota Tiwahe Services Unit is the preservation of family and culture.



    The vision of Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit is to promote social justice and social change with and on behalf of tribal members. These activities may be in the form of direct practice, community organizing, supervision, consultation, administration, advocacy, social and political action, policy development and implementation, education, and research and evaluation. The Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit seeks to enhance the capacity of tribal members and promote the responsiveness of organizations, communities, and other social institutions to individuals' needs and social problems. The Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit currently provides services through the following programs:


    1. BIA Social Services – General Assistance and Burial Assistance
    2. Native Employment Works (NEW)
    3. Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault
    4. Protection and Safety :Child Protective Services/Adult Protective Services
    5. Independent Living
    6. Family Preservation-O’onye Was’te and Fatherhood is Sacred
    7. Indian Child Welfare Act
    8. Sunktanka Oyate Wan Onispepi – Teachings of a Horse Nation AKA The Horse   
            Program
    9. AmeriCorps


    Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit - 425 Frazier Ave Ste. 2

    Village of Santee, Niobrara, NE 68760

    Though Dakota Tiwahe currently does not contract Tribal TANF it is important that tribal members are aware that these service are available to them.  Dakota Tiwahe has made office space available for the use of the State TANF Worker. To obtain a current schedule of when this individual is in Santee call the Dakota Tiwahe at 857-2342 or the Center Office at 288-4226.  To Contact the Tribal TANF program, please contact Lola Reynolds at 857-2380.

  • Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit

    425 Frazier Ave. Ste. 2 / RR2 Box 5191 Niobrara, NE 68760

    Office- 402-857-2342/ Fax- 402-857-2361


  • Dakota Tiwahe Service Unit Staff:


    Executive Director  Misty Thomas Ext #202   

    m.thomas@ssn-dakota.org     misty.thomas@nebraska.gov


    Office Manager and Independent Living Coordinator – Brandi Castillo Ext #210  b.castillo@ssn-dakota.org


    Employment Opportunities Coordinator – Jerome Proctor 

    Ext #204   j.proctor@ssn-dakota.org

    http://www.serve.nebraska.gov/americorps/program-profiles/santee-sioux-nation.htm


    Employment Opportunities Case Aide – Maddy Smith    

    m.smith@ssn-dakota .org


    Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Coordinator- Karen Redowl

    k.redowl@ssn-dakota.org


    Women’s Advocate-Lorene Thomas 

    l.thomas@ssn-dakota.org


    Indian Child Welfare Director – Clarissa LaPlante 

    Ext. #206  cl.laplante@ssn-dakota.org


    Protection and Safety Worker I – Nellie Tuttle 

    Ext #212   r.tuttle@ssn-dakota.org
    nellie.tuttle@nebraska.gov


    Protection and Safety Worker II – Crystal Coffman 

    c.coffman@ssn-dakota.org      crystal.coffman@nebraska.gov


    Drug and Alcohol Counselor – Doug Widow 

    Ext #208   d.widow@ssn-dakota.org


    Drug and Alcohol Counselor/Mental Health Counselor –

    Shirley Kriesch  #402-992-7542 shirkriesch@yahoo.com